Nicholas Walker

Nicholas Walker, described by the BBC Music Magazine as possessing "the flair of a full-scale virtuoso and a sparkling intelligence", studied at the Royal Academy of Music and at the Moscow Conservatoire.

"a prodigy of awesome technical fluency backed by exceptional artistry"

Winner of the first Newport International Piano Competition, Nicholas has performed with major British Orchestras, recorded for BBC Radio 3, Cirrus, ASV, BMG Arte Nova, Chandos, Toccata Classics and Naxos Grand Piano, and has given recitals worldwide. His new series of recordings of the complete piano music of Balakirev for Naxos Grand Piano will be unique, in that it introduces music that has never before been performed or published, including a substantial sonata and works that Nicholas has completed himself. According to American Record Guide it promises to be the “reference set”… more »

Visit Nicholas’s YouTube channel here

Other videos can be accessed here and here


Nicholas Walker celebrates the release of Volumes 2 and 3 in his series of recordings of the complete piano music of Balakirev for Naxos Grand Piano with a concert at St John’s, Smith Square in London on Thursday, 6th October, 2016, at 7:30 p.m. Both these discs include works that have never been previously never performed, published or recorded, and the latest disc includes two works that have been completed by Nicholas Walker.

The programme for the recital on 6th October is:

  • Mozart: Sonata in E flat major, K282
  • Liszt: Sonata in B minor
  • Beethoven: Sonata in F major, Op. 54
  • Balakirev: Mazurka No.5 in C sharp major, 1884 version completed by Nicholas Walker (world première)
  • Balakirev: Piece in F sharp minor, completed by Nicholas Walker (world première)
  • Balakirev: Nocturne in G sharp minor (world première)
  • Balakirev: Waltz No. 5 in D flat major
  • Balakirev: Fantasiestücke
  • Balakirev: Humoreske

Tickets for the concert can be bought online here

Reviews of his last two concerts at St John’s Smith Square can be found here

Or in full here and here

Nicholas Walker
Copyright © 2016 Nicholas Walker. All Rights Reserved. Created by OvationStudio